top of page


2022 Chapter 2.GIF

The PHA Scottish Rite


The Scottish Rite is one of the two largest concordant bodies of Freemasonry in which a Master Mason may proceed after he has completed the three degrees of Craft Lodge Masonry. The Scottish Rite work expands and elaborates on the lessons of the three Craft Lodge Degrees. As with Freemasonry, the Scottish Rite is not a religion, and is nondenominational, although it does require a belief in a Supreme Being.


The Scottish Rite, sometimes called the "University of Freemasonry," uses extensive dramatic plays and allegory to emphasize the messages of its degrees. A Freemason, after viewing these dramas, will eventually attain the 32nd Degree in Scottish Rite Masonry. To a non-Mason this may sound like the member is a high ranking Mason, however, this would be a misconception. The highest degree in Freemasonry is the 3rd, or Master Mason Degree. Degrees, as they relate to the Scottish Rite, indicate the level of experience that a Master Mason has attained. In the Scottish Rite, the 33rd Degree is an Honorary Degree, bestowed upon members who have given outstanding service to Freemasonry or their communities.


KadoshIn the Scottish Rite, a Master Mason may become an officer of any of the four bodies — Lodge of Perfection, Rose Croix, and Consistory.

20109 class.jpg
Someday We'll All Be Free - Donny Hathway
00:00 / 00:00
bottom of page